Keynote Speaker

Hayne Shumate

As Vice President of Internet Business at Mouser, Shumate has built and led a strong team that has helped propel Mouser’s growth by constantly improving the user experience and the capabilities of the e-commerce business. Joining Mouser in 2008, Shumate consolidated teams from Information Systems and Marketing into a new Internet Business Department capable of supporting and enhancing Mouser’s rapid international growth as the company diversified its sales beyond the catalog.

Shekhar Bhansali, PhD

Shekhar Bhansali is currently serving as Division for the Electrical, Communications, and Cyber Systems Division at National Science Foundation. Dr. Bhansali is an IPA from Florida International University where he is a Distinguished University Professor and Lucent Technologies CALA Distinguished Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. Previously he was Co-Director of Center for Advanced Self-Powered Systems of Integrated Sensors and Technologies (ASSIST), a funded NSF Engineering Research Center at FIU. He currently also serves as the Director of the ASTERIX consortium at FIU.

Dr. Bhansali served as Department Chair of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Florida International University from 2011 until his appointment at NSF in 2020. He also served as the Founding Interim Director of School of Electrical, Computer and Enterprise Engineering in 2019-2020. His expertise is in the field of biosensors, microfluidics, microsystems and additive manufacturing. He has published over 170 journal papers, received 44 patents, and has directed research training programs that have supported over 200 doctoral students in all areas of STEM.

Dr. Bhansali earned his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering at RMIT University, Melboourne, M.Tech in Aircraft Production Technology from IIT, Madras and B.E. (Hons) in Metallurgical Engineering from MREC, Jaipur. He is the recipient of numerous awards including the NSF CAREER award and Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Mentor of the Year Award. He is elected fellow of Fellow of AAAS, AIMBE, ECS, IOP, ISEES and NAI.